2018年 9 4日

您的產品是否可被生物降解?在加利福尼亞州需多加留意

 您的產品是否可被生物降解?在加利福尼亞州需多加留意

加利福尼亞州法律SB 567條,禁止在州內銷售任何被標記為“可生物降解”、“可降解”或“可分解”,或任何包含有關術語的塑料產品。 此外,標籤不能以任何方式暗示其塑料產品可在垃圾堆填區或其他環境中可被分解、破碎、生物降解或分解。加利福尼亞州立法機構已宣佈,在塑料產品上使用“可降解”、“可生物降解”、“可分解”或其他類似術語,以免誤導消費者。
就違規的罰款,民事處將按每件產品進行評估,根據訂單量的不同,罰款可達數十千萬美元。 一間大型零售商曾因產品的標籤錯誤,而支付近一百萬美元的費用來解決訴訟。
許多公司以誤導的方式使用了“可生物降解”或“可堆肥”等術語,以至令消費者經常錯誤地認為這些產品在某種程度上對環保有利。生物降解和堆肥實際上是專門的過程,消費者在考慮這些功能時,應同時了解所需的條件和後果。
那麼什麼使產品才可被稱為“可生物降解”?任何來自大自然的材料都能夠回歸自然,只要它沒有經過人為加工或太多改變。任何基於植物、動物或天然礦物的產品都具有生物降解的能力,但它們將根據原始材料和加工量,以不同的速率進行生物降解。由實驗室配製的人造化合物製成的產品,是在自然界中不存在的,因此微生物不能將它們分解。

Are your products biodegradable? You better watch out in California.

 Are your products biodegradable? You better watch out in California.

California’s law SB 567 prohibits any plastic product sold within the state to be labeled as “biodegradable,” “degradable,” or “decomposable,” or any form of those terms. Moreover, a label cannot “in any way imply that the plastic product will break down, fragment, biodegrade or decompose in a landfill or other environment”. California legislature has declared the use of the terms “degradable,” “biodegradable,” “decomposable,” or other like terms on plastic products are inherently misleading to consumers.”

 

Civil penalties for violations are assessed on a per product basis and can easily amount to hundreds of thousands of dollars depending on the volume of the orders. One major retailer paid just under $1 million to settle a consumer protection action lawsuit over mislabeling products in this manner

 

Many companies use terms like “biodegradable” or “compostable” in a very misleading manner to the point that consumers often mistakenly believe that these products are somehow good for the environment. Biodegradation  and composting are in fact specialized processes and consumers should be aware of the required conditions and consequences when considering these functions.

 

So what makes a product “biodegradable”? Any material that comes from nature will be able to return to nature provided that it hasn’t been changed too much by man-made processing.  Any plant-based, animal-based or natural mineral-based product has the capability to biodegrade, but they will biodegrade at different rates depending on the original material and how much it has been processed. Products made from man-made compounds formulated in a laboratory are in combinations that do not exist in nature and therefore microorganisms are not able to break them down.