霉變過程

霉菌無處不在。世界上有超過十萬種霉菌,部分對人體有害。當然,誰都不希望貨品在到達零售店時長滿白色、黃色及綠色的霉菌孢子。霉菌有特定的生長環境,亦有些物料較易滋生霉菌。了解霉菌及其生長過程是防霉的第一步。

甚麼是霉菌?霉菌如何生長?

霉菌孢子。霉菌是一種簡單的微生物,只要水分、養分充足且溫度適宜,它們幾乎可以在任何地方生長。室內外空氣中存在著幾十種霉菌孢子。一旦條件適合,這些孢子就會飄落並發芽生長。
霉菌的基本生長單位是菌絲。菌絲會形成細長的分枝結構,末端可以生長。菌絲的集合稱為菌絲體。孢子會在菌絲末端形成,而遺傳信息則包含在細小而堅硬的結構中。
孢子形成後,會釋放到空氣中隨風飄浮,落地後一旦條件適宜,就會發芽形成新的菌絲細胞,開始另一個週期。
霉菌在自然界無處不在,但當孢子大量存在,就會損壞商品,危害人體健康,有可能導致過敏和呼吸道疾病。

霉菌的生長條件

濕度。大多數霉菌在相對濕度約65%以上的環境才能生長。較低的相對濕度能夠延遲霉孢發芽,減緩霉菌生長速度。常見的霉菌在相對濕度低於62%時會完全停止生長。皮革、紡織品、木材等物料含有的水分亦有利於霉菌繁殖。

食物。霉菌不能自行合成食物,而是分泌酶來消化有機物質。因此,它們的食物可以來自天然纖維、皮革、紙張,甚至是普通的灰塵。

溫度。霉菌無法調節自身溫度,只能倚賴環境溫度。環境溫度能夠影響生化反應速度,從而控制生長。每種霉菌都有最低、最高和最佳的繁殖溫度。霉菌的繁殖溫度範圍頗大(從0°C至50°C),但一般的霉菌都可以在室溫下生長。根據我們掌握的資料,霉菌的理想生長溫度為20°C及以上。

為何鞋、衣服、手袋等物件會容易長霉?

鞋、手袋等物件通常在高濕度及高溫環境中生產,亦包含多種材料及黏合劑,這些大都是霉菌的絕佳食物來源,具備了霉菌生長所需的濕度、溫度和食物。商品的成品通常會在運輸集裝箱內放置一段時間,期間,相對濕度會大幅波動,正好成為霉菌的溫床。需要注意的是,合成物料的鞋、手袋、外套等等也常有長霉。雖然合成物料本身不會發霉(罕有情況除外),但物料內部或表面的有機物卻會助長霉菌滋生。一般來說,霉菌會從合成品的内部蔓延至表面。

邁可達的服務流程是怎樣的?

邁可達的主要服務是為物料供應商、製造商及物流合作方提供防霉知識的培訓。邁可達技術團隊會從來料、主要設施及外來工場的生產流程、倉存、運輸各方面著手,全面協助各參與方杜絕霉菌。培訓課題包括教育、工廠分析、糾正行動計劃,以及邁可達產品的正確使用方式。

教育

邁可達的技術人員會定期舉行研討會,向會眾講授霉菌滋生和預防霉菌方面的知識。研討會設有多國語言的簡報、個案研究、示範和深度答問環節。有些研討會專注探討霉菌相關課題,亦有些會配合客戶的基本培訓活動舉行。

分析

邁可達在每次工廠分析後,會提供詳盡的調查結果和建議報告。報告一般為20頁,內容包括核查表的正本及答案、工廠目前及以往的分數、技術人員的意見和建議、霉菌棉簽詳細資料以及照片。

糾正行動計劃

分析不但只著眼於找出事實,更是為了幫助工廠克服不足。為此,邁可達會根據分析結果,為工廠制訂糾正行動計劃(CAP),列出邁可達發現的問題,請工廠定下糾正計劃、訂定完成期限,以及負責保證糾正措施得以實施的人員。這比起工廠一句「我們將會改善」的回覆,無疑有效得多。

邁可達產品的用法

我們的產品用法簡易,並完全符合國家當局的嚴格安全標準以及個別公司的政策。

邁可達的優勢

邁可達的產品及服務兼具功效、監管合規、安全、技術支援、可持續性。邁可達的足跡遍佈國際,於全球的主要製造及零售市場設有辦事處及分銷商,以便我們時刻掌握當地情況,及時向客戶提供服務及支援。邁可達以符合可持續原則並遵守相關規定的方式,提供「一條龍」的防霉服務。

監管

霉必清產品在美國環境保護局(EPA)及美國全部50個州成功註冊,並已完成歐盟REACH(化學品註冊、評估、授權和限制)法規的預先註冊,現正申請根據歐盟生物殺滅劑法規(BPR)進行註冊。

功效

多家國際認可的實驗室曾對霉必清產品進行廣泛和持續的第三方檢測,結果顯示產品功效可持續五個月以上。

安全性

作為我們在美國環境保護局註冊產品的一部分,霉必清產品已接受皮膚刺激性、吸入和進食等方面的嚴格安全測試,並全部通過。霉必清產品在美國環境保護局的毒性分類中獲評為最低(最安全)的第四類。

合規

邁可達有限公司設有全面的管制物質測試協議,符合第65號提案以及AAFA、FDRA、SATRA、全球多家主要品牌和零售商的管制物質清單。霉必清產品亦已完成歐盟REACH法規的預先註冊,並遵守最新的高度關注物質(SVHC)名單的限制。

服務

邁可達在香港、波特蘭、俄勒岡州、紐約州和荷蘭均設有辦事處,並已建立一個擁有超過25個授權分銷商的國際網絡。我們能夠提供全天候客戶服務。如有需要,我們的工作人員能在數小時內到達您在美國、歐洲或亞洲的辦事處、工廠或零售店。

技術支援

邁可達擁有高質素的技術團隊,可舉辦研討會、現場培訓及進行工廠審核。邁可達技術辦公室擁有先進而獨特的實驗室設備,能夠進行霉孢數量點算和種屬鑒定。

可持續性

邁可達可持續發展計劃由波特蘭辦事處的可持續發展專員統籌。邁可達是可持續包裝聯盟(Sustainable Packaging Coalition)的會員,榮獲搖籃到搖籃銀級認證。

產品比較

邁可達成功後,許多公司開始生產各種活性成分的防霉貼,個別產品雖然頗有防霉功效,但不少公司都沒有遵循嚴格而必要的監管程序,這些產品對於工人及消費者是否安全,對環境有何影響,都是未知之數。違反監管程序的後果,最終會落在零售商頭上。邁可達的產品已在美國環境保護局(EPA)成功註冊,並已完成歐盟REACH(化學品註冊、評估、授權和限制)法規的預先註冊。
消毒噴霧劑須以特定方式均勻噴灑,方能達致預期效果。消毒噴霧劑可能令物料(特別是淺色或經過特殊處理的物料)脫色或造成其他損壞。使用噴霧時需要遵守適當的安全程序,以免工人因吸入、眼部刺激、皮膚接觸而被有害的化學物質傷害。不論在何處使用消毒噴霧劑,均須受美國及歐盟的多重規管。

邁可達產品用法簡單,符合國際主要市場的相關規定。
乾燥劑的用途是吸收水分。有些乾燥劑雖能有效去除水分,卻無法消除霉孢。邁可達的產品既能吸收水分,更能產生並釋放一層氣體,有效消除霉孢。

所有出口歐盟的乾燥劑均須遵守REACH的註冊規定,以及不時增訂的高度關注物質(SVHC)名單。出口商及零售商若沒有辦妥REACH法規的註冊程序,可遭罰款及其他處罰。邁可達的產品已在美國環境保護局(EPA)成功註冊,並已完成歐盟REACH(化學品註冊、評估、授權和限制)法規的預先註冊。

坊間很多乾燥劑的製造及運輸過程相當耗水,對環境影響極大。邁可達的產品化學成分獨特,製造過程無需用水。
紫外光是防霉過程中的一步,卻不能根治霉菌。紫外光只對某些種類的霉菌有效,效果視乎光源強度及照射時間而異。此外,紫外光只對產品被照射的範圍有效,無法消除未經照射的霉孢。最後,生產設備若沒有妥善清潔,產品經紫外光照射後仍會接觸到大量霉孢。
市面上有各種各樣所謂的「天然防霉產品」,不少產品不但毫無功效,反而可能助長霉菌滋生。美國和歐盟對於「天然產品」非但沒有豁免法例監管,更設有詳細的註冊及批准流程,亦有訂明「天然」物料的清單。最後,「天然」產品乍聽雖比「人造」可取,卻並非萬試萬靈。

why_micropak

Mold process

Mold is everywhere. In fact there are well over 100,000 different species of mold. Some species of mold can be harmful to people and of course nobody wants their products to arrive at retail covered in white, yellow and green spores. Mold has specific requirements for growth and different materials will be more susceptible for mold growth than others. The understanding of what mold is and how it grows is the first step towards prevention.

WHAT IS MOLD AND HOW DOES IT GROW?

Mold spores. Mold and mildew are simple, microscopic organisms that can grow virtually anywhere if they have adequate moisture, nutrients and appropriate temperatures. Spores of dozens of kinds of mold and mildew are present at all times in indoor and outdoor air. These spores can settle, germinate and grow wherever good growth conditions are found. The basic unit of mold growth is hyphae. The hyphae form long, thin branching structures that grow at the tip. The collective hyphae of a colony are called the mycelium. Spores form on the end of some of the hyphae and the spores contain the genetic information inside their small rigid structure. After the spores are formed, they are released into the air and carried elsewhere. Once the spore lands in a new area and when the appropriate conditions exist, the spore will begin to germinate into a new hyphae cell and start the process all over again. Molds are an important part of nature however when spores are present in large quantities, they will damage merchandise and can be a health hazard to humans, potentially causing allergic reactions and respiratory problems.

REQUIREMENTS FOR MOLD GROWTH

Moisture. Most molds require moisture levels starting from around 65% relative humidity (RH) in order to grow. A lower RH delays germination of mold spores and reduces the rate of mold growth. RH would have to be below 62% to stop all chances for typical mold growth. Moisture in materials such as leather, textile, wood, etc. can also support mold growth.

Food. Molds do not have the ability to create their own food and instead produce enzymes that digest organic matter. The food source for mold can therefore be natural fibers, leather, paper or even ordinary dust.

Temperature. Molds cannot control their own temperature so they must rely on the temperature of the environment. The ambient temperature will control the rate of biochemical reactions controlling growth and each species of mold has a minimum, maximum and optimum temperature for growth. Although various molds can grow within a wide range of temperatures (from 0°C to 50°C), most common molds will grow at room temperature. For our purposes the ideal range for mold growth would be from 20°C and up.

WHY ARE SHOES, GARMENTS, BAGS AND OTHER ITEMS SO SUSCEPTIBLE TO MOLD?

Shoes, garments, bags and similar items are often produced in conditions of high humidity and high temperature. These products also contain a variety of materials and adhesives, many of which will be an excellent food source for mold. The requirement for moisture, temperature and food are thus all fulfilled. After production the merchandise will usually be in shipping containers for extended periods during which time the relative humidity will rise and fall dramatically, creating an ideal incubator for mold. It is important to note that it is not unusual to have mold cases on synthetic shoes, bags, jackets and other items. While synthetic materials themselves will not become moldy (except in very special cases) organic matter on the interior or exterior surface of the materials can support mold growth. Often times it is in fact the interior components of the synthetic item that first become moldy and the mold then grows onto the surface.

What is the Micro-pak process?

The Micro-Pak process for mold prevention is based on the education and training of material suppliers, manufacturers and logistic partners. The Micro-Pak technical team takes a holistic approach looking at everything from incoming materials, production at main facilities as well as outside workshops, warehousing and shipping in order to assist all participants in eliminating mold. The training modules include education, factory analysis, corrective action planning and the proper use of Micro-Pak products.

EDUCATION

Micro-Pak technicians will hold regularly scheduled seminars to educate all involved personnel on the issues of mold growth and prevention. This will involve multi-lingual PowerPoint presentations, case studies, demonstrations and in-depth question and answer sessions. These seminars can be focused solely on mold related issues or can be combined with a customer’s general training events.

ANALYSIS

For each factory analysis Micro-Pak will issue a detailed report of our findings and recommendations. The report (average 20 pages) will include the original checklist with all answers, the factory score as well as previous scores, the technician’s comments and recommendations, mold swab details as well as photos.

CORRECTIVE ACTION PLANNING

While the analysis is focused on fact-finding what is most important is for the factory to eliminate any shortcomings. To assist with this process Micro-Pak will develop a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) for the factory based on the results of the analysis. The CAP will specify the problems found and ask the factory for their plan for corrections with details of when the corrections will be completed and who will be responsible for ensuring that the corrections are carried out. This will be far more effective than just having the factory reply in an e-mail “we will improve for the future”.

USE OF MICRO-PAK PRODUCTS

Our products are easy to use and comply with rigorous safety standards set by national authorities as well as individual companies policies.

Benefits of using Micro-pak

Micro-Pak products and services include a wide range of benefits covering efficacy, regulatory compliance, safety, technical support and sustainability. Micro-Pak has an international organization with offices and distributors located in major manufacturing and retail markets around the globe enabling us to keep up to date with local issues as well provide our customers with immediate service and assistance. Micro-Pak offers an end-to-end mold prevention process in a sustainable and compliant manner.

REGULATORY

Micro-Pak® products are registered in the US per the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requirements as well as in all fifty states. In the EU Micro-Pak® products are REACH pre-registered and are in the process of being registered under the Biocidal Products Regulation (BPR).

EFFICACY

Through extensive and continual third party testing in internationally recognized laboratories Micro-Pak® products have demonstrated continual efficacy for periods of over five months.

SAFETY

As part of our Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registration Micro-Pak® products underwent rigorous safety testing for skin irritation, inhalation, ingestion as well as other points and were approved in all areas. Micro-Pak® products are EPA Toxicity Category IV which is the lowest (safest) rating issued by the EPA.

COMPLIANCE

Micro-Pak has an extensive restricted substance test protocol and complies with Proposition 65 as well as the restricted substance lists of the AAFA, FDRA, SATRA and major brands and retailers throughout the world. Micro-Pak® products are also REACH pre-registered in the EU as well as compliant with the latest list of Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC).

SERVICE

Micro-Pak has offices in Hong Kong, Portland, Oregon, New York and Holland as well as an international network of more than twenty-five authorized distributors around the world. This allows us to offer customer service on a 24/7 basis. If required our staff can, within hours, be in your US, European or Asian offices, factories or retail stores.

TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Micro-Pak has a highly qualified technical team available for seminars, on-sight training and factory audits. The Micro-Pak technical office has advanced and unique lab facilities for conducting mold spore counts and species identification.

SUSTAINABILITY

Micro-Pak has a continually developing sustainability program headed by our Sustainability Officer based in the Portland office. Micro-Pak is also a member of the Sustainable Packaging Coalition and has achieved Cradle to Cradle Silver Certification

Product comparison

Following the success of Micro-Pak, many companies started producing a wide range of anti-mold patches using various active ingredients. Some of these may be effective against mold however as many of the companies selling these items have neglected to follow the necessary detailed regulatory procedures, it is unclear as to both the safety of these products (for both workers and consumers) as well as their environmental impact. It is important to understand that the consequences for violations of regulatory procedures will ultimately fall on the retailer. Micro-Pak products are registered with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in the US and are REACH pre-registered in the EU.
Disinfectant sprays require a specific and thorough application to have the desired effect. Use of disinfectant sprays may also result in discoloration or other damage to materials particularly those with light colors or special finishes. Application of sprays requires proper safety procedures to avoid workers suffering from unsafe levels of chemical exposure through inhalation, eye irritation or skin contact. Disinfectant sprays are also subject to a wide range of regulatory issues in both the US and EU regardless of where the application takes place.

Micro-Pak products are simple to use and are compliant with relevant regulations in major markets around the globe
Desiccants are designed to absorb moisture and while some of these may be quite effective at this they are not specifically going after mold spores. Micro-Pak products will both absorb moisture and create and release an atmosphere to eliminate mold spores.



For shipments to the EU all desiccants are subject to regulatory compliance under REACH including registration as well as compliance with the ever-growing list of Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC). Failure to complete the REACH registration process can result in fines and other penalties imposed on the importer and retailer. Micro-Pak products are registered with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in the US and are pre-registered under REACH in the EU.


There is a significant environmental impact with the manufacturing and shipping of many desiccants including a surprisingly large degree of water usage. Due to the unique nature of the Micro-Pak chemistry no water is used in the manufacturing of Micro-Pak products.
Ultra violet lights can be considered as one step in the mold prevention process but should not be thought of as a cure-all for mold. Ultra violet lights are effective against a limited number of mold species and the effectiveness will vary greatly with the intensity and duration of the light. Moreover ultra violet lights will only be effective on the exposed area and will not eliminate mold spores on the unexposed parts of the product. Finally, if the manufacturing facilities are not properly cleaned then the product will still be exposed to high levels of mold spores after undergoing the light treatment.
There are a variety of so-called “natural products” on the market intended to prevent mold. Many of these products are ineffective and may in fact promote mold growth through their high water content. It is also important to understand that in both the US and EU there is no automatic regulatory exemption for “natural products”. There are in fact detailed procedures for the registration and approval of such items as well as a specific list of what is considered as “natural”. Finally while “natural” sounds better than “man-made”, not every natural product is suitable for every use.